In which my daughter schools me in creating characters…

So, I’m talking to my son about creating a character for a Discworld RPG, daughter comes in, and just sits and starts drawing…

"What you drawing?"

"Oh, this is my character…"

"Is she a princess?"

"Well, she was, until she was given a ring by her granny, that her mum and dad don’t like her to talk to, and it glowed, which meant she was a witch like granny was secretly, so her parents found out and threw her our, even though she was a princess and only ten. And she’s travelling the world to find someone to teach her witchcraft. This is her cat. She accidentally cast a spell on it and now it talks, and it’s REALLY ANNOYING."

Wow. Character with interesting history, conflict and motivation and even a great comedy sidekick. In as long as it took me to type that.

That character CANNOT have anything dull happen to it.

One thought on “In which my daughter schools me in creating characters…

Leave a Reply

