You know, sometimes they ask questions you don’t want to answer…

So, after maybe five weeks of practising rugby and finally playing in a match, my son’s team not only wins one of their matches, but he also scores a try.

This, of course leaves me unbelievably proud until…

“Did you ever play rugby at school dad?”
“A few times, why?”
“Did you ever score a try dad?”

Tumbleweed…

One thought on “You know, sometimes they ask questions you don’t want to answer…

  1. Thank god i’ll be able to answer yes to that one when the time comes, just as long as he doesn’t ask how many. Of course it reminds me of my heroic scoring in a match at college. QMC was handicapped in that only 15% of its students were male. I was virtually guaranteed a place on the team which always lost. I played hooker and picked up a loose ball at the halfway line and just ran with it, barge through a few tackle attempts and there I was. Standing behind the posts, ball in hand, looking at the eight burly prison officers running towards me. I was barely registering the screams of “put the ball down” but I did, just before being knocked out by the impact of the opposing teams forwards crushing me into the mud. I don’t miss it at all.

Leave a Reply

